If there’s any kind of magic in this world


Why sweetcakesnmilkshakes?

I swear the reason behind my blog name isn’t because I’m a fatty.

A few days ago, I watched Before Sunrise (1995), a romance with Ethan Hawke and Julia Delpy (the only two characters). The last time I had seen it must have been 5 or 6 years ago, and it was just as good now as it was then.

Before Sunrise isn’t your average love story (Joseph can attest to that) – it doesn’t have that happy ending that’s expected in most romance movies, no vomit-inducing cheesy lines were said, it isn’t a tear-jerker by any means, and nothing near-melodramatic happens. Why is it so good then?!

Simply put, this movie is all about the dialogue – you’re captivated by it. The first time I had seen Before Sunrise, it made me want to meet someone who I could share that kind of substantial conversation with, have that comfortable silence with – and all with an unwavering and continuous spark. It’s the kind of substance everyone wants in their relationship. The second time I had seen Before Sunrise, it was with the person I wanted to meet the first time I watched it.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes/scenes, starting with the Sweetcakes and Milkshakes poem from the street poet:

“Daydream delusion, limousine eyelash / Oh baby with your pretty face / Drop a tear in my wineglass / Look at those big eyes / See what you mean to me / Sweet-cakes and milkshakes / I’m a delusion angel / I’m a fantasy parade / I want you to know what I think / Don’t want you to guess anymore / You have no idea where I came from / We have no idea where we’re going / Lodged in life / Like branches in a river/ Flowing downstream / Caught in the current / I carry you / You’ll carry me / That’s how it could be / Don’t you know me? / Don’t you know me by now?”


“I like to feel his eyes on me when I look away.”

“If there’s any kind of magic in this world it must be in the attempt of understanding someone, sharing something. I know, it’s almost impossible to succeed but who cares really? The answer must be in the attempt.


Tags: , , , ,

Categories: reflections & musings

stalkables

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

