the Queen of queens


Alexander McQueen lives on, thanks to his creative director Sarah Burton. She so successfully reinterpreted McQueen’s elegantly elaborate vision for the Resort 2012 collection… and of course, here are a few of my absolute favorites:

laser cut lace + Victorian elements

I’ve been seeing laser cut lace much more frequently than usual – trend alert! I utterly love how Burton couples the lace element with Victorian details like coattails and peplums – it makes those pieces that much more romantic.

Given how much I adore lace and all its beauty, I’m going to have to invest in a few laser-cut styles… although probably not McQueen (to my dismay).

What I love about her Resort 2012 collection is the prominence of wearable and interchangeable styles – the pieces exude a sophisticated elegance that’s not too ostentatious for every day wear.

all that glitters is gold

Anything but lackluster. That’s how I would describe the distinctly dramatic silhouettes that gave McQueen his name in the couture industry.

I’m partial to gold, so naturally, my favorite part of these dresses are the impeccable details that lie in the intricate embroidery. Very enamoring.

I also love how the fabric is layered so beautifully, lightly, and gracefully – making these already enchanting dresses emanate the most ethereal magnificence. Oh how I wish I had an occasion to wear one (or all) of these McQueen dresses!

It also wouldn’t hurt if I could afford one (or all) of these either. What the hell is sweetcakesnmilkshakes? I should rename my blog, “The Open Diary of a Girl Who Can’t Afford Any of the Designers She Posts About.” Sad trombone.

Can you believe I haven’t seen the McQueen Exhibition yet!? Must. Make. The. Time. (that I don’t have).

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: fashion & beauty

stalkables

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

