a nightcap


Work has been an absolute roller coaster ride this week, and it’s only Tuesday. However, a nightcap of Porto Morgado should mildly remedy my anxiety.

I’m not a big drinker, so whenever Joseph offers a glass of whatever alcoholic beverage he’s enjoying that evening, I decline (about 95% of the time).

Sunday night marked the 5% – I couldn’t decline a few sips when I discovered he was nursing some Port in his glass.  Of all fermented-grape-juice varieties, I’m the most partial to Port – easily my favorite tasting back when I took my wines class.

 Economical and delicious – the best combination.

The Porto Morgado was divine. The translucent golden brown colored wine had a subtely sweet after taste, with hints of cherry, vanilla, nutella and toasted cashews (the ones from NYC street vendors) on the nose. Tasted like $100 bucks but Joseph claimed it was a $7 bottle from Trader Joe’s. Could’ve fooled a cheap date like me!

I am no wine connoisseur given that I hardly passed my wines course (one of the most infamously challenging classes I took at Cornell, just trailing behind Statistics, Accounting and Finance), but hey – at least I got to develop an irrevocable love for Port wine and learned how to swirl my glass like a lady.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: eat, drink, & be merry

stalkables

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

