things to do, places to go, people to see – autumn 2012 edition


I’m proud to announce that I’ve knocked off a major to-do off my bucket list this weekend: I watched the Back to the Future trilogy for the first time! It’s one of those “what?!-I-can’t-believe-you’ve-never-seen-it!” movies, that I couldn’t believe I had never seen until now. There was all this hype about those Nike shoes circulating, so I figured it was time to get in the loop – better late then never.  My favorite Back to the Future was the 3rd one – I love that the setting is completely different and how it ties the entire trilogy together. The movies are just so well thought out – brilliant(ly entertaining).

Now that I’ve checked off Back to the Future, I’ve added a few more to do’s for this fall:

  • Go to the flea market for personal purchases, not for work (for once). When I first started prop shopping, I got distracted so easily by various knickknacks that caught my attention – a gold frame that would perfectly complement the royal purple in my room; a beautiful cocktail watch; pretty vintage frocks from the ‘50s; and of course, the free food samples. I’ve trained myself to focus strictly on brand-related elements to add to the stores, and cut out everything unrelated. This fall, I’d like to be selfish for once and do some antique shopping for myself.

  • Cook more, or at least be a helping hand. I spend my time at work much more than Joseph, so he’ll occasionally have food on the table when I get back late; or have breakfast ready for me before I leave for work on a Saturday or Sunday morning (#rolereversal?) I’m trying to save money by not dining out, but I feel bad for making him slave away in the kitchen to keep me fed – it’s only fair I should probably return the favor and cook a little (or at least help) too! Plus, my salary is weak (perks of working for a start-up), so it’s not like I’m bringing home any bacon either. I’m essentially useless, so I may as well try a hand in cooking.
  • See my friends, I swear I have them. Work has legitimately been eating up my life for the past too many weeks. I’m too young to be working this much (no day off until this coming Sunday.. that’ll be 13 straight days of working ~12 hours a day.) I need a life, especially one that involves reuniting with my girls, giving Joseph more attention, and returning to the gym.
  • Plan a bridal shower. HOW DO I PLAN ONE!? Anyone who knows or has experience… please reach out to me @ jessli88@gmail.com. Currently in panic mode.

  • Go to Miami for a weekend for Michelle’s bachelorette party. I’ll be going with mostly 30 year old women who are rather well-established and essentially loaded. I’m suffering as a 23 year old making an unacceptable salary for my living standards, so let’s see if I’ll be able to keep up with their weekend spending habits… #nervousforthefutureofmybankaccount.
  • Brew some homemade mulled wine… it tastes like autumn in liquid form.
  • Go pumpkin and/or apple picking – a universal fall favorite.
  • Make some homemade, baked goods out of the hand-picked pumpkins and/or apples.
  • Can’t have pumpkin/apple picking without a hay ride.

  • Attend the Quidditch World Cup.
  • Go to Central Park to marvel at the leaves once they start changing colors – because let’s be honest, Central Park is probably the only place in NYC to have enough trees for you to take in the full spectrum on the leaves.

  • Make a trip down to Philly for Molly and Al’s housewarming party/Molly’s birthday!
  • Go back to the gym. Haven’t been since before Kentucky and I’m starting to feel the effects. Womp.
  • Go to the BYOB Painting Lounge. Curious to see the extent of my artistic abilities while under the influence.

  • Visit Ithaca for a weekend – I’ve only been dying to go back since, oh, summer of 2010 immediately after graduating..
  • Tour the haunted landmarks in NYC. Joseph got us tickets to a ghost tour, which I’m pretty excited about. I don’t believe in the paranormal, but it’s always fun to get scared.
  • 6 Flags Fright Fest. I wanted to go to an amusement park or carnival over the summer, neither of which happened. Hopefully I’ll make it to Fright Fest this fall for some cheesy Halloween goodness!
Tags: ,

Categories: love & happiness

stalkables

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

