get in the mood


I grew up with no TV. Okay maybe I’m exaggerating – I had about 5 working channels.. so a sorry excuse for a TV anyway. We finally got cable when I was senior in high school, but I was too busy being that Asian kid with an excessive amount of extra curricular activities to organize,  tests to study for, colleges to apply to, and jobs to juggle. No time for the ol telly! (But I was a cool nerd.)

Lately, however, I’ve become a total TV junkie, it’s almost sinful. Favorite shows? New Girl, 2 Broke Girls, Glee, The Daily Show, Terra Nova, Breaking Bad, Modern Family, Arrested Development… ugh. So many. Let’s also add American Horror Story and Walking Dead to that list… Two amazing TV shows to get you in the mood for the much anticipated Halloween :)

Walking Dead.

I’m already a fan of vampires, werewolves, and wizards – I may as well add zombies to the list. Joseph introduced me to the Walking Dead a few weeks ago and I’m hooked. Zombies, blood and guts galore, with some enticing baby momma drama to boot.

I used to think zombies were totally cheesy – completely sub par to the likes of Edward, Jacob and Harry. But I judged too soon, they’re actually not so bad.

American Horror Story.

It’s like a horror movie, except extended into an entire season of episodes. The basis of American Horror Story is akin to a number of scary movies: a family moves into a new house and shit goes down between a bunch of characters that will successfully give you a cold case of the heebie jeebies. How is it special from the rest of those very similar plots? I don’t know. But it’s absolutely creepy – it’s the too-scared-to-sleep-even-if-the-lights-are-on kind of movie, but in TV show form. I love it!

True Blood.

It should be on my list right? Surprisingly.. I haven’t gotten into it (yet).

Tags: , , ,

Categories: reflections & musings

stalkables

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

